Couple of links

So, not got much to say right now, but I thought I’d link to a few pieces I’d found interesting lately. Apart from anything else, it’ll help stop this blog from just turning into a collection of rants about stupid things trots say.

First of all, observant readers may have noticed that this blog tends to be pretty class-focused, and hasn’t had much content about gender/sexuality/race/other forms of oppression. This isn’t because I don’t think those things aren’t important, it’s just because a) I don’t think any recent struggles have erupted on those fronts on the scale of the anti-cuts movement or the revolts in the Middle East or Wisconsin, and b) I try to only write posts where I think I have something worthwhile to say; I think I have a fairly decent grasp of basic class struggle ideas, but I don’t really feel confident about trying to disentangle the ways that different forms of oppression and privilege interact with each other. That being the case, I think me just staying silent on these issues is less bad than if I tried to spout off about stuff I don’t fully understand.

Still, having said all that, when I see something I think is interesting, I’ll mention it, so with that in mind, I think this letter to male activists is worth a look if you’ve not seen it already. I think the people who wrote it have politics that’re quite different to mine (apart from anything else, I tend to use both “activists” and “leftists”as negative rather than positive terms), and it’s obviously not perfect, but I think enough of it rings true for it to be worth engaging with. I think that pieces like this, or the No Pretence intervention a few years ago, tend to generate very polarised arguments, and people often tend to reply to the tone rather than the content, which is a shame, because it’s the ideas and experiences described, not the style in which it’s written, that matters.

So, having posted something slightly unusual for this blog, I’ll get back to my bread and butter content, with this piece by a London-based trade unionist. It may not say much that hasn’t been said before, but the things it says are all true and important, and it’s likely that we’ll have to repeat ourselves quite a few more times before we’ve got rid of capital, the state, and all other forms of oppression. Not long now till the 26th…

About nothingiseverlost

"The impulse to fight against work and management is immediately collective. As we fight against the conditions of our own lives, we see that other people are doing the same. To get anywhere we have to fight side by side. We begin to break down the divisions between us and prejudices, hierarchies, and nationalisms begin to be undermined. As we build trust and solidarity, we grow more daring and combative. More becomes possible. We get more organized, more confident, more disruptive and more powerful."
This entry was posted in Activism, Gender and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Couple of links

  1. sistaresista says:

    Thanks for linking to our letter, genuinely happy and it goes some way to making up for the nasty comments (many of which have now been removed by Indymedia) we received here: http://indymedia.org.uk/en/2011/03/476336.html

    If you click on our “About” section you’ll find our politics is a lot closer than you think… http://sistersofresistance.wordpress.com/about/

    Thanks again

Leave a Reply

